Top Ten Books I’d Want on a Deserted Island

64

November 12, 2012 by Alice in Readerland

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

When I heard that this week’s Top Ten Tuesday was Top Ten Books I’d Want on a Deserted Island, my first thoughts were that I’d try to find a way to bring Belle’s library from Beauty and the Beast (because, really, who wouldn’t want her library?) or a slew of survival books (like How To Survive on a Deserted Island 101). However, since adding those would probably miss the point of this Top Ten Tuesday, here are ten books I’d bring with me that all have island/exotic settings:

1. The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss.

Obviously I had to put The Swiss Family Robinson on my list. It comes with a How-To Guide on how to build their awesome tree house, right?

2. Dinotopia by James Gurney. Because when I get shipwrecked on an island, one of the first things I will do is search to see if I’ve washed up on Dinotopia. Besides, even if I’m not in Dinotopia, the beautiful and detailed book illustrations will make me feel like I am.

3. Nim’s Island by Wendy Orr. Who doesn’t want to visit Nim’s Island after reading this book full of beautiful island descriptions?

4. Nim at Sea by Wendy Orr. Of course, once I read Nim’s Island I must to read the sequel. I love spunky Nim and her sweet animal friends Selkie and Fred.

5. The Summer My Life Began by Shannon Greenland. The imagery in this book is absolutely beautiful and vivid (in my interview, I learned that Shannon drew from her stay in Bermuda to create the island setting in this book). You can read my review of The Summer My Life Began and my interview with the author Shannon Greenland here.

6. Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie. I’d like to point out that, technically, Neverland is an island. Besides, I’d need a fairy tale to read.

7. Black Heart of Jamaica by Julia Golding. I love the Cat Royal series, and this book in the series places all the history and adventure in an exotic location.

8. Dragonsong by Anne McCaffrey. The Harper Hall Trilogy features a creative girl who finds some fire lizard eggs near the beach and manages to survive on her own (with the exception of her newly-hatched mini dragon friends). I will so be looking for fire lizard eggs.

9. Chomp by Carl Hiaasen. This book features real and fake animal wranglers, bats, an alligator, and commandeered boats. You can read my review of Chomp here.

10. The Dolphin Diaries by Ben M. Baglio. Featuring different islands and a family who sails around the world researching dolphins, this is the perfect series for any Middle Grader (or anyone else) who adores dolphins.

What books would you want on a deserted island?

64 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Want on a Deserted Island

  1. Peter Pan is such a good choice. Wish I would have thought of it! I haven’t read of you other choices though! Gonna have to look into them!

    Here’s my Top Ten!

  2. Rachel says:

    Great list! There are several books on here that I’ve heard of and want to read, or have at least seen the movies of. Thanks for sharing and stopping by!

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

  3. Ahahaha yay for Peter Pan! I’d love to read that on an island too!

  4. Katie says:

    I love the theme of your list!

  5. LadyInRead says:

    love your list.. want to add swiss family to my list as well… http://myrandrspace.blogspot.com/

  6. Very nice theme for a list. I picked three books with the deserted island setting for my list too but only Robinson family is the same. I agree I just adore that tree house. :)

    Dragana @ Bookworm Dreams
    My weird and ‘reasonable’ list of top ten books I’d want on deserted island…

  7. bookgoonie says:

    You picked a lot of fun books.

  8. Though I have heard of most of those books, I have never read any of them..lol.

  9. great picks! love the fairy tales like peter pan, and the island inspired reads! Check out our TTT ~ Katie @ Inkk

  10. Peter Pan! Even when I lost all my sympathy for him, I do love the Lost boys and Captain Hook :D

    TTT@thedailyprophecy.

  11. Monica says:

    Been meaning to read The Summer My Life Begins. Thanks for stopping by my TTT.

  12. I haven’t read any of these books. I feel terrible. I have so many books yet to read.
    Great list.

    Thanks for stopping by :)

  13. GillyB says:

    Thanks for visiting my TTT! Yours is great. Love the theme. And OMGOSH. I will love anyone who also considers Belle’s library as the ultimate book fantasy.
    http://gillianeberry.blogspot.com/2012/11/top-ten-books-id-want-on-deserted-island.html?showComment=1352829609679#c4015741017977609639

  14. Alley Rivers says:

    Aww I haven’t thought of Dinotopia in a zillion years. memories!

  15. Nice idea of combining the theme with books about islands/exotic setting!

  16. Great choices! I really want to read Peter Pan! :)
    Thanks for checking out My TTT
    Samantha @ The Secret Life of a Bookworm

  17. Great list! I really want to read The Summer My Life Began. I’d love to have Peter Pan with me too, I love that book!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  18. Wish summer was here already with this fab list!

  19. *Sophie* says:

    Love how Shannon Greenland commented; I think it’s awesome when authors do things like that! Makes me want to blog! ;)

  20. What a great list! I’ll have to check out these books. I haven’t heard of any of them and they all look great. :) Thanks!

  21. You have a really great list here. Peter Pan is an awesome choice!

  22. elena says:

    Peter Pan almost made my list! I used to LOVE the Dolphin Diaries when I was younger, even had the dolphin necklaces and everything!

    • I loved Dolphin Diaries when I was younger as well (I loved everything dolphins), but I had forgotten all about the series until I sat down to make this list! :) Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  23. Lola says:

    Fun choices! :)

  24. Michelle says:

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT! Your picks feature a lot of cool animals, you would definitely be feeling the island mood w/ those books :)

  25. How did I forget Peter Pan?? I’d definitely need that on a deserted island. It’s such a great story! (:

  26. emziixgx says:

    Great idea to make the topic more of a theme. I’m sure all these books contain useful tips aswell as being great reads.

  27. Very original list! I’m sure we can learn a lot from these books, I guess I should have added a survival guide :)

    Thanks for stopping by!

  28. Amy H says:

    Excellent list! I love how your titles all feature around life on an island, and it makes for a nice mix of stories, too. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  29. bookjunkie92 says:

    Great list! I love how all of them are island related, and a great mix of different types! Thanks for commenting on mine.<3

  30. I love your choices! I would definitely put Swiss Family Robinson and Peter Pan on my list:D And the others sound wonderful as well!

  31. neabarabea says:

    hahaha I would probably take Peter Pan with me on a desert island too :P :)

Leave your comment down the rabbit hole!

Enter your email address to follow Alice in Readerland and have new Readerland posts magically appear in your inbox!

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow the White Rabbit to Readerland!

A Week of Rapunzel

Alice in Readerland Presents Fairy Tale February

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

bookreviewblogs.com
bookreviewblogs.com