Top Ten Characters (and Literary Figures) That I’d Name My Pets After

44

November 5, 2012 by Alice in Readerland

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 I love animals (I live with 2 cats, a dog, and a parakeet), so when this week’s Top Ten Tuesday was a  Top Ten Tuesday Freebie where I could make up whatever topic I wanted, I knew I had to make a list of  my top ten choices of characters (and literary figures) that I’d name my pets after.

  1. Sherlock (From Sherlock Holmes): I came thiiiis close to naming my cat Sherlock.
  2. Frost (After poet Robert Frost): Frost is such a cute name!
  3. Polka Dot (From the Ruby Oliver series): I love Ruby Oliver’s Great Dane and Polka Dot’s an adorable name!
  4. Harper (After author Harper Lee) Because To Kill a Mockingbird was an amazing book.
  5. Cheshire (From Alice in Wonderland): Oh, yes. One day I will have a cat and it will be named Cheshire. Yes.
  6. Shakespeare (After playwright William Shakespeare): Of course Shakespeare had to appear on this list.
  7. Onyx (From The Gallagher Girls series): Onyx is such a beautiful name. For you GG series fans out there, yes, I do prefer Onyx over Suzie as a cat name. ;)
  8. Koko (After The Cat Who series): Koko’s a cute name and I love “the cat with the 60 whiskers.”
  9. Blackberry (From Watership Down): Watership Down is my favorite fiction book and Blackberry is my favorite rabbit from the story.
  10.  Hobbes (From Calvin and Hobbes): Okay, okay, so Calvin and Hobbes is a comic strip but I adore Hobbes and came very close to naming my cat Hobbes.

 For those of you who also love animals, everyday you can answer trivia questions on Free Kibble to help feed shelter dogs and on Free Kibble Kat to help feed shelter cats. You can also go to The Animal Rescue Site to click daily; with each click you make, they fund food and care for rescued animals.

What character (or literary figure ) would you name your pet after? 

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters (and Literary Figures) That I’d Name My Pets After

  1. I’ve seen compilation books of Calvin and Hobbes cartoons, so I think it’s allowed. (; haha Sherlock would be such a great name for a cat! Cute list idea!

  2. Briana says:

    I love Sherlock as a pet name! I might have to steal that some day.

    My house has some stuffed animals named after Beowulf, Wiglaf, and Roland. We need someone else to name Oliver so Roland isn’t alone!

  3. Katie @ INkk says:

    If i had to just pick one of those i would choose onyx . love it Check out our Top Ten Fictional Crushes Katie @ INkk

  4. I would so name my pet Sherlock! Awesome list :-)

  5. I would name them after some Harry Potter characters <3 And recently I saw the movie 'John Carter' and the dog was called 'Whoola' and I liked it :p

    TTT@thedailyprophecy

  6. Great names! I did I post on naming my kids with literary names :D Also works on pets ^^

    Thanks for stopping by

    p.s.: you have a cute blog :)

  7. HelloKitty12 says:

    so if you didn’t name any of your pets those names what did you name them?

  8. Those would all be such cute names! I’m not much of an animal person, but I’ve considered getting a bunch of fish and naming them after various fictional characters.

  9. This was the cutest list ever! Great idea! I love the name Sherlock :)

  10. Erica says:

    I agree with you on Cheshire!

  11. Lynn says:

    I <3 animals and there are so many shelter animals out there that need help; so thanks for the links, I'm going to check them out now!

  12. Katie says:

    This is such a fun top ten idea! I love the idea of pets named after literary characters. Our dog is named Hrothgar (from Beowulf) and when we get a puppy in the next year or so he will most likely be named after a Lord of the Rings character.
    Check my Top Ten Favorite Fictional Families: http://wp.me/2zoUo
    I’d love to hear what you think!

  13. emziixgx says:

    Such a great idea for a list. I am also now following you too :D

  14. Brandi says:

    I named my puppy Dobby, but I think I should have went with Voldemort!

  15. I love your idea for this week’s TTT! :D
    II would totally name a pet Sherlock or Cheshire :)
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  16. Michelle says:

    Cool list! Books and authors are good inpiration for names (pet names more than kid names I agree). I love Ruby’s dog’s name as well, but I guess I am a little biased! Anyway thanks for stopping my My TTT

  17. tinalinatime says:

    What a fun TTT theme idea! I’m going to steal it sometime soon (just letting you know!) I’m pretty sure author Maureen Johnson has a cat named Sherlock and my future sister-in-law has a a cat named Harper. I think I’d definitely name a cat Hermione….its so cute! :)

  18. Quinn says:

    I created a list like this a few months ago. I actually named my dog Daphne after Daphne DuMaurier. My friend once said I was a pet name generator because I have all these names I want to name pets. Someday I am going to get a Newfie and name him/her Hagrid. I think that is a perfect name!!

  19. Sunny says:

    I love these names! I even was imagine naming a pet Onyx :) Love the GG reference!

    My TTT: http://blueskyshelf.blogspot.com/2012/11/top-ten-tuesday-fictional-crushes.html

  20. KateB says:

    I did name my cat after a fictional character! He’s called Sancho much like Don Quixote’s squire in the novel by Miguel de Cervantes. I figured if the name was good enough for Don Quixote’s sidekick then it was good enough for mine :P

    If I ever get another cat (or my first ever dog!) I think I’ll probably name it after a character from the Princess Bride. Westley, Inigo, Fezzik… I love those names.

    I really liked this list! I may have to steal the topic at a later stage for myself.

    • I love that you named your cat Sancho (I’m a fan of the novel and the musical)! Names from the Princess Bride also sound great; I had a lot of fun writing this list! Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  21. Anime says:

    I came sooo close to naming my new kitten Sherlock, too! I decided that if I ended up getting two kittens, I’d name them Sherlock and John, but in the end, I only got one. I named my little baby Atlas, after the novel Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell.

    If I had gotten a female kitten, my top name was Scout, from To Kill a Mockingbird, and my second favourite name was Alaska, from Looking for Alaska by John Green.

    Looking for Alaska is one of my favourite books, and I also love the name Miles, which I got from it.

    I wouldn’t name a pet Hobbes, but I absolutely love the name Calvin.

    Watership Down was my favourite book when I was younger. I love Blackberry, and I also like the name Hazel.

    If I ever got another kitten, I think I would name it Miles if it was a boy, and Scout if it was a girl.
    I think Atlas, Miles and Scout go together alright! :P

    Your post was great :D

  22. Penny says:

    My cat is named Dinah, after Alice’s cat, and also for Dinah Bellman in Stephen King’s The Langoliers. That Dinah is a kind little girl who can’t see, but has remarkable hearing and some visions about people’s thoughts and some future events. My Dinah is a sweet little girl, too.

Leave your comment down the rabbit hole!

Enter your email address to follow Alice in Readerland and have new Readerland posts magically appear in your inbox!

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow the White Rabbit to Readerland!

A Week of Rapunzel

Alice in Readerland Presents Fairy Tale February

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

bookreviewblogs.com
bookreviewblogs.com