Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

113

December 10, 2012 by Alice in Readerland

toptentuesday Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012:

Eden's Root

1. Rachel E. Fisher

I discovered the Eden’s Root Trilogy earlier this year and it’s amazing! This trilogy completely sucked me in and kept me guessing; I’m excited for the last book in the trilogy, Emergence, to come out soon!

52 Reasons to Hate My Father

2. Jessica Brody

After I read 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, it became one of my favorite books and Jessica became one of my favorite authors. Jessica wrote so many lines that were powerful, funny, and perfectly described how I’ve felt at times. Her next book, Unremembered, is one of my most anticipated reads of 2013!

cassidyjones1

3. Elise Stokes

Elise’s books are packed with action-adventure, hilarious scenes, and enough surprises to keep you guessing! I absolutely adore the plotline and characters of the Cassidy Jones Adventures and can’t wait to see what happens next! You can see my interview with Elise here.

How My Summer Went Up in Flames

4. Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

Okay, so I’m kind of bending the rules on this one: How My Summer Went Up in Flames comes out next year. However, I received an ARC and this book has got to be one of my most favorite books I’ve read all year. Jennifer wrote a fantastic story and I loved the main character’s voice; you’ll want to buy this book as soon as it comes out!

ScarletUS.indd

5. A. C. Gaughen

I loved Scarlet and how the main character was such a strong, kick-butt girl! I just heard the announcement from A. C.’s blog that Scarlet will be a trilogy so there will be two more Scarlet books; I’m very excited to see the synopsis for the next book! You can read my interview with A. C. here.

MyMonsterBurrufu

6. Alberto Corral

My Monster Burrufu has got to be the most charming, whimsical, adorable, and heartfelt book I’ve read all year. It’s the sweetest book ever, perfect for anyone wanting a fun book with a lot of heart. You can see my review of My Monster Burrufu here.

Don't Expect Magic Cover

7. Kathy McCullough

I’m so glad that I read Kathy’s Don’t Expect Magic, it’s become one of my favorite YA books! Kathy’s created such a fun and sarcastic voice for the main character and I’m early awaiting her next book, Who Needs Magic!

Alias Dragonfly

8. Jane Singer

The language in Alias Dragonfly was as rich as the historical setting and the plot was full of adventure. Jane filled this book with excitement and romance, all in a historical setting. I’ll definitely keep my eye out for more books from this author!

Remarkable

9. Lizzie K. Foley

Lizzie’s writing was so hilarious and heartfelt, and she created such wonderful characters! I just adored her writing style; I can’t wait to see what Lizzie will write next, I’ll definitely be picking it up!

Masterpiece

10. Elise Broach

Elise’s books Masterpiece and Shakespeare’s Secret were such fantastic reads that I definitely recommend!

Who were your favorite new-to-you authors you read in 2012?

i love comments

113 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012

  1. Monica says:

    Im so jealous you read How my summer went up in flames. I cant wait to read it. Plus Unremembered! Great picks. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  2. Belle says:

    I haven’t read any of these authors! They’ll have to be new to me in 2013 ;)

  3. fishgirl182 says:

    i am a bit embarrassed to say that i haven’t read any of the books on your list yet though several are on my tbr pile. i really, really want to read scarlet. i love that cover. My Monster Burrufu looks super adorable. i am definitely going to check that one out.

  4. Lucy says:

    Awesome list! I’m happy to see you loved How My Summer Went Up in Flames…I’ll have to move it up the TBR. Lizzie K. Foley’s book also looks like so much fun.

  5. I read Tell the Wolves I’m Gone by Carol Rifka-Brunt. So good!

  6. Great list! Don’t Expect Magic looks particularly interesting! :)

  7. Ellie says:

    I bought Scarlet for my Kindle, but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’m glad to see you loved it!

  8. definitely will be adding how my summer went up in flames, really how could I not after that glowing endorsement!?

    marissa
    my TTT

  9. Merin says:

    All of these except Scarlet are new to me! I love stumbling upon books I’ve never heard of before. :)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  10. You’ve got so much fun books on your list, my TBR seems to be increasing with each site I visit. I love the cover of Remarkable and I definitely want to read How My Summer Went Up in Flames and Scarlet.
    Isa @ Chasing Quills

  11. Judie says:

    Wow, everything is new to me; so interesting. The cover of Lizzie K. Foley’s book is very engaging to the eyes. :)

  12. Kar.- says:

    That’s an interesting list. I have heard of some of those books/author, but I’ve never read any of them. I’m looking forward to read How My Summer Went Up In Flames & Don’t expect Magic!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m following by email :)

    Have a nice week!
    Kar @ Pause Time

  13. Lisa says:

    The Lizzie Foley book looks like so much fun!

  14. Audrey says:

    Oh wow, I haven’t heard of any of these authors! I’ll have to check some of them out sometime. :D Thanks for stopping by my TTT post!

  15. I read book 1 and 2 in the Cassidy Jones Series. I actually read the second one when it was still in transcript form. I love Elise Stokes. Not only are her books terrific, but she is an amazing and genuine person. Great list.

  16. Michelle says:

    Great List!! You’ve read so many books I want to read: 52 Reasons, How My Summer Went Up in Flames, Don’t Expect Magic… they all look cute!!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT :)

  17. Brandy says:

    I haven’t heard of all of these. I’ll have to look into the ones that aren’t already on my TBR list. :)

    Thanks for visiting my TTT

    Brandy @ A Little of the Book Life

  18. I really want to read a lot of the books on your list!
    I haven’t read anything by these authors before but I intend to next year :)
    Great list!
    Thanks for stopping by My TTT :)

  19. Katie says:

    Many of the books on your list are ones that I’m waiting to read! I guess most of these authors will have to wait for my “favorite new-to-me authors of 2013” list!

  20. I haven’t read any of these yet but I hope I do soon :)

    My TTT

  21. Tara says:

    Wow that cover on the Lizzie Foley book is amazing…and your comments about the humor are intriguing! I’ve never heard of it, but I’m going to check it out.

  22. I haven’t even heard of most of these books/authors! I’ll have to check them out!

  23. I actually haven’t read any of these! But I WANT to read many of them. I definitely have my eye on How My Summer Went Up in Flames, Don’t Expect Magic and 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. Fun list!

  24. Fun list! I LOVE Jessica Brody

  25. I’ve seen nothing but awesome things about Scarlet, and seeing A.C Gaughen on your list is definitely encouraging me to get a copy of it next year. Great list!

  26. vmcarswell says:

    Great list! There are a few on here that I haven’t heard of yet, so I will be looking into them. Thanks for stopping by!

    Vyki @ On The Shelf
    Check out my Giveaway!

  27. I “discovered” Jessica Brody as a new fave author this year, too! Did you know she plants “easter eggs” in her books. Each novel makes a reference to a previous. Love that! I’ll put HOW MY SUMMER WENT UP IN FLAMES on my list! Thanks!

  28. Daisy says:

    I’m dying to read Scarlet and Don’t Expect Magic! I hope to add both of these authors to my favourite new authors of 2013 list next year ;)

  29. Elizabeth says:

    Wow, there are so many on here I haven’t heard of… Remarkable and Don’t Expect Magic look cute!

  30. Great list! I haven’t read any of them, but I’ve got Don’t Expect Magic on my TBR list. Hope I’ll get to read it soon. Now I’ve also added How My Summer Went Up in Flames to my list – it sounds really good and funny.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

  31. Sunny says:

    Wow! These look great! I have been wanting to read Don’t Expect Magic for a while now :) The others I TBR’d immediately. LOVE the list.

  32. jennasthilaire says:

    I love your blog title. :) I haven’t read any of these, but some of them look very exciting!

  33. I haven’t read any of these, but have a few on my TBR pile. So glad you liked them!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  34. Jessica Brody seems awesome and 52 Reasons to Hate My Father needs to have become a movie (perhaps made for TV?) yesterday!

  35. Emily @ Too Many Books says:

    Your blog is so cute! I love the title of it. You have a great taste in books, too!

  36. Jessica Brody just missed my Top Ten! I loved 52 Reasons, it would probably make a cute direct to TV movie.

    http://www.napsandnovels.com

  37. Suey says:

    You have got a LOT of new to me authors on your list! Whew. I’m overwhelmed!

  38. Thanks for stopping by my TTT. I haven’t read any of the authors you listed. Definitely need to check some of them out.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  39. elena says:

    I haven’t read any of these but My Monster Burrufu looks ADORABLE!

  40. Oh!! I haven’t heard of a lot of those! I’m on my way to check out Don’t Expect Magic – looks awesome :) Thanks for sharing your list & stopping by my top ten!

  41. caitlore says:

    Oh I love Elise Broach!!! Such a great discovery! I really, really want to read “52 Reasons” and My Monster Burrufu looks adorable.

  42. Great list, Don’t Expect Magic sounds really good, thank you for leaving the comment on my TTT!

  43. I haven’t read any of these! *hangs head in shame* I guess I have some catching up to do!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  44. Scarlet! I loved it. It’s also on my list :) I wish that this book got more popularity, because it deserves the attention.

    Mel@thedailyprophecy.

  45. Scarlet is a book/author that I meant to get to this year but just didn’t have time. I guess there is always next year…=D

    Thanks for stoppin’ by this week!

  46. Elise Stokes says:

    Thank you so much, Alice. I am honored. :) Have a great Christmas!

  47. danagriffin says:

    I’ve read Elise Stokes, Cassidy Jones And The Secret Formula, and loved it too. I agree with everything you said about this awesome writer and her characters.

  48. Wow, I don’t know any of these authors! I’ll have to check them out :D Thanks for stopping by my blog this week :)

  49. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    I’ve actually never heard of any of these, but they certainly sound interesting. Great list.

  50. I haven’t read any of these, but Scarlet is on my tbr adaptation list! Here’s Ours

  51. Bree says:

    Most of those authors are brand new to me, I did come across the one by Lizzy K Foley, and thought it would be good to read with my kids…I may just pick it up next time I’m at the bookstore!

  52. Lisa says:

    I reeeeally want to read 52 Reasons to Hate My Father. I saw it at the book store a couple weeks ago and was totally drooling.

    Also, I’m looking forward to How My Summer Went Up in Flames. The story seems so interesting. Definitely on my radar.

  53. I have purchased Scarlet! I am looking forward to read it :)

  54. Jessica Brody’s books are so fun, although I still need to read 52 Reasons! Don’t Expect Magic looks so cute, and I’ve been dying to read Scarlet, since I loved Robin Hood as a kid. Great list! (:

  55. Rina says:

    Thanks for visiting my TTT! Scarlet is on my tbr list, hopefully sometime soon…

Leave your comment down the rabbit hole!

Enter your email address to follow Alice in Readerland and have new Readerland posts magically appear in your inbox!

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow the White Rabbit to Readerland!

A Week of Rapunzel

Alice in Readerland Presents Fairy Tale February

Follow My Blog!

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers...

bookreviewblogs.com
bookreviewblogs.com